

## Santa Cruz County Women's Commission

701 Ocean Street, Fifth Floor, Room 510, Santa Cruz, CA 95060 P: (831) 454-2772 F: (831) 454-2411 TTY/TDD: 711 commissions@santacruzcounty.us www.sccwc.org

## **Meeting Minutes**

- DATE: Thursday, February 21, 2019
- TIME: 6:30 to 8:00 PM

LOCATION: Coastlines Conference Room, 5<sup>th</sup> Floor, Santa Cruz County Building 701 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060

PRESENT: Theresa Cariño (Co-Chair, 1<sup>st</sup> District), Jillian Ritter (Co-Chair, 1<sup>st</sup> District), Carrie Beaton (2<sup>nd</sup> District), Laurel Schonfield (2<sup>nd</sup> District), Carole McPherson (3<sup>rd</sup> District), M. Miller (3<sup>rd</sup> District), Luci Basor (4<sup>th</sup> District), Sheila De Lany (5<sup>th</sup> District), Margaret Barr (5<sup>th</sup> District)

EXCUSED: Ari Parker (4<sup>th</sup> District)

STAFF: Britt Harmssen (*County EEO Officer*), Kaite McGrew (*Commissions Coordinator*) GUESTS: None

- 1. <u>Call to Order/Roll Call/Introductions</u> Meeting convened at 6:33 PM.
- 2. <u>Review and Approve Agenda</u> Motion/Second: Ritter/Beaton Motion passed unanimously.
- <u>Review and Approve January 17, 2019 Meeting Minutes</u> Motion/Second: De Lany/Ritter Motion passed unanimously.
- 4. Correspondence
- 5. Public Comment None
- 6. <u>Reports of Officers and Subcommittees</u>
  - 6.1. Co-Chairs Report: No Report
  - 6.2. Status of Women and Girls (SOWAG) Report
    - 6.2.1. Health Care Section: Data Subcommittee: County Staff submitted internship description to the VIP program and will be attending the UCSC internship fair in April.
  - 6.3. Justice and Gender Task Force Update:

The Task Force will be conducting a solutions-oriented examination of each step in the judicial process using a gender lens. The goal is to initiate community conversation on whether the current process is effective in addressing the specific needs of women in the judicial system.

- 6.4. Trailblazers Awards Subcommittee Report:
  - 6.4.1. Approve Awardees

The Subcommittee selected Casey Coonerty-Protti, Clara Minor, Nicole Keadle, and Margaret Cariño-Condon to receive awards. County Staff will follow up with references, recipients, and thank you letters.

Motion/Second: De Lany/Miller

Ayes: Ritter, Beaton, Schonfield, McPherson, Miller, Basor, De Lany, Barr Abstained: Cariño

6.4.2. Art Wall Exhibit

The Trailblazers Awards Art Wall to celebrate award recipients will be installed on Friday, March 8, 2019. County Staff will follow-up with the Arts Council to determine if the exhibit can be extended into April.

6.4.3. Recognition Reception

The reception will be held immediately after the Board of Supervisors meeting in the Redwood and Coastlines conference rooms. The Subcommittee will submit a proposed budget to the County for consideration.

6.5. Women and Homelessness Town Hall Subcommittee Report

McPherson contacted the Sentinel to thank them for their coverage of homelessness issues. The Subcommittee met to discuss potential stakeholders, potential expert Subcommittee members, event purpose and scope, and possible venues. Expert Subcommittee members will need to be approved by the Commission.

- 6.6. Public Awareness Updates
  - 6.6.1. Beaton reported that the Commission's Facebook page has gained 22 followers for a total of 284 followers but lost 42% in post reach. Most-shared posts included information about the 2-1-1 program, and information about the Trailblazers Awards.
  - 6.6.2. The Commission's Instagram account has 221 followers to date.
  - 6.6.3. Commission will take new headshots at the next meeting.
- 7. Staff Report
  - 7.1. The Watsonville County building is available for alternate meeting space in South County.
  - 7.2. Commissioners will submit community partner contact information for the new *Community Partner Database* to support future outreach and collaboration efforts.
  - 7.3. Harmssen will present the County's EEO Plan to the Commission when internal County review has been completed.
- 8. <u>Unfinished Business</u> None
- 9. <u>New Business</u> None
- 10. Announcements None
- 11. Adjournment

Meeting was adjourned at 7:55 PM.

Respectfully submitted by: Kaite McGrew, Commissions Coordinator